I don’t know about you, but I’m pretty excited about free search marketing advice. That’s why I can’t wait for Brighton SEO, this Friday on 22nd April 2016.

Brighton SEO is a twice-yearly search marketing conference based in – you guessed it  – the U.K.’s quirky seaside town of Brighton. It’s organised by digital fanatic Kelvin Newman, and every year brings some of the best search marketers in the country together to talk passionately about the digital space…by the sea. On a Friday. It’s awesome.

Why WOULDN’T you want to go to that?!

This year over 2,000 search marketers are attending, and believe me, this is an exclusive club – with tickets being free, this year they sold out in 4 minutes. Yup, 240 seconds is all it took until many of us were left disappointed and unable to attend…

…but here’s something that will brighten your day: you can still watch Europe’s biggest SEO conference, LIVE on Friday 22nd April.

How can I watch Brighton SEO 2016 live?

With ease. Oh, and did I mention it’s free…?

No, I’m not kidding. The kind fellows over at Authoritas have this year partnered with Brighton SEO to provide a full live stream of all the speakers on the event’s main stage.

That’s 14 search marketing talks, or 5 hours and 35 minutes of expert search marketing knowledge, for NOTHING. I mean, I’m getting no pay off for promoting this at all, but it’s worth it alone sharing this kind of resource. You’re bound to pick up something new or nuanced from these guys.

You can watch the full live stream here.

Register, and you’ll be asked to fill out this form…

Registering to watch Brighton SEO live stream
A few fields away from watching Brighton SEO’s main stage

…and then be told to access the following link (it won’t work if you haven’t first registered): https://www.authoritas.com/brightonseo-live/

So what should I watch?

Good question. Below I have compiled which speakers will feature in each segment, their overall topic, the name of their talk, and some thoughts on why it might be worth you taking a look. This also includes the times for each speaker segment, which for obvious reasons have ‘U.K. time’ (A.K.A. ‘BST’) starts. However, for those interested, I have added the U.S. time zones too – making it all the easier for those across the pond who fancy taking a look. Because no-one’s great with figuring out time zones.

Easy navigation

Lastly, before we crack on, here’s some navigation to make it easier for you to skip around; complete with links down to the relevant sections:

Morning talks segment

Afternoon talks segment

Brighton SEO 2016 Free Schedule

1. Future-Proof (Strategy)

09:45 – 11:00 BST (U.K. Time)
04:45 – 06:00 ET (U.S. Eastern Time) / 03:45 – 05:00 CT (U.S. Central Time) / 02:45 – 04:00 MT (U.S. Mountain Time) –  01:45 – 03:00 PT (U.S. Pacific Time)

SEO SUX: How and Why UX Must Be Front and Centre to Your Technical Strategy
Nichola Stott (MD, Founder and Entrepreneur, theMediaFlow)

What it’s about

Pretty much what it says on the tin, you’d imagine: User Experience should not be sacrificed in favour of  Technical SEO, in Nichola’s opinion, and she wants to show you what UX improvements can do to “propel your site potential way ahead of your competition.

Why you should watch it

Technical SEO is the bread and butter for most search marketers and their clients. Set your site up well,  and let Google do the work for you by making it easy to crawl your site and index your content. Simple. Except, aren’t we forgetting something? It should never be Google’s needs > Customer needs. Something tells me Nichola is of the same opinion.


Discoverable, Shareable & Memorable: How to Make a Better Impression through Personal Branding
Mel Carson (Founder & Principal Strategist, Delightful Communications)

What it’s about

The importance of personal branding, and how we can use our personal brands to be “more discoverable, shareable and memorable not just for ourselves and our own career, but to make a positive impact for our company”.

Why you should watch it

Whether you’re utilising it already or not, you have a personal brand. You have influence as an individual. With the “actionable tips” Mel promises to provide in this talk, it’s time to grasp this potential with both hands.


Deep diving into featured snippets: How to earn more and rise to the top of the SERPs
Rob Bucci (Founder & CEO, STAT Search Analytics)

What it’s about

In a nutshell, Featured Snippets in Google Search, and the opportunities they represent for us search marketers.

Why you should watch it

We’ve all seen the changes made to Google’s search result layout, and impact four Google Ads at the top of search results has had on organic search visibility. But guess what? The featured snippet trumps it all. Get your content in the featured snippet, and you’re golden! Now let’s see what Rob and his team have discovered, and how it can be put into practice to capitalise on this…


11:30 – 13:00 BST (U.K. time)
06:00 – 06:30 ET  / 05:00 – 05:30 CT / 04:00 – 04:30 MT  / 03:00 – 03:30 PT

 

Ranking Factors Reloaded – Why Content Is Your Key To Success
Marcus Tober (Founder & CTO, searchmetrics GmbH)

What it’s about

Classical factors of SEO are not so bulky as they once were – the game is changing, and the way search engines evaluate pages based on these factors. Marcus wants to teach us how to stay ahead of the crowd.

Why you should watch it

The description of the session over on Brighton SEO’s site claims you will ‘learn why user signals, holistic content, localization, and personalization are now becoming more relevant’. That’s a good start. But what really caught my attention is that Marcus is a guy who “”doesn’t mind ruffling some feathers with his opinions”, and is very supportive of the “disruptive elements or new technology. No doubt he may divide opinion, so TICK for me.


Link Knowhow – 7 Things you didn’t know about links, redirects and rel-canonicals
Christoph C. Cemper (CEO, LinkResearchTools)

What it’s about

It’s easy to have forget bits of linking etiquette – or even never have come across it. Christoph brings his knowledge to bear, and provide some suggestions of what to look out for.

Why you should watch it

Christoph C. Cemper has a wealth of experience and knowledge behind him; especially in terms of linkbuilding, and maintaining this strategy. With Google recently very explicitly re-stating the importance of links in Google’s top 3 ranking signals, you’d bet he has some good insights on link building the right way.


Site Speed for Content Marketers
Tom Bennet (Senior Consultant, Builtvisible)

What it’s about

Reducing your site speed for the benefit of your content marketing and overall site.

Why you should watch it

Because he promises A LOT of useful info to help reduce your site speed. From image compression techniques to responsive image loading, from sprites and data URIs to tackling those bloated CSS files that are dragging your site to a crawl – Tom’s got your back. And hopefully a few explanations for those bamboozling terms?


Epic PR fails and what we can learn from them
Catherine Warrilow (MD, Thinker, Writer, Doer, Seriously PR)

What it’s about

Epic PR fails. What else?!

Why you should watch it

Everyone loves watching a false idol fall…but do we ever learn anything from the fall itself? Catherine has a few suggestions, and I imagine will have the crowd laughing at her targets.


3. Results (Strategy)

14:30 – 15.45 BST
09:30 – 10:45 ET  / 08:30 – 09:45 CT  / 07:30 – 08:45 MT  / 06:30 – 07:45 PT 

 

How to Fix any SEO Problem
Jon Earnshaw (CTO and Co-Founder of Pi Datametrics, Pi Datametrics)

What it’s about

How to find and fix some of those annoying SEO issues we face on a daily basis.

Why you should watch it

You just know this is going to be helpful. After all, we all have our own regular SEO irks, so why not see if Jon solves your problem for you? Oh, and the full title of the talk is ‘Data and a blank sheet of paper – that’s all you need to fix any SEO problem and generate more revenue – here’s the evidence’. ‘Nuff said.


Why SEO Needs to Get Emotional
Lisa Myers & James Finlayson (CEO & Founder and Head of Search, Verve Search)

What it’s about

Creating narratives that make people stop and feel something.

Why you should watch it

SEO and search marketing as a whole don’t have to be clinical, or the digital equivalent of a one-night-stand. You need to develop a relationship with your audience now, and these speakers claim to have compelling evidence for you to get on board with this, that they want to share.


Marketing to Local Customers
Greg Gifford (Director of Search and Social, DealerOn)

What it’s about

Again, what it says on the tin: marketing to local customers.

Why you should watch it

Local SEO is important for any venture, and especially for businesses. As an expert in the field, Greg will bring his knowledge to bear on how you can market to this specific audience, better. Sounds good to me!


4. Content Strategy (Content and Links)

16:10 – 17:15 BST
11:10 – 12:15 ET  / 10:10 – 11:15 CT / 09:10 – 10:15 MT  / 08:10 – 09:15 PT

 

How to Build Useful Audience Personas to Guide Your Digital Strategy
Laura Hampton (Digital Marketing Manager, Impression)

What it’s about

Building audience personas to actually help your digital strategy – and not just for the sake of it.

Why you should watch it

Companies always claim they have an idea of their audience personas, but how often do they ACTUALLY use them properly? Audience personas are for life, people, not just to tick off a task. Fingers crossed, Laura delivers and shows us how to create useful, actionable audience personas for your venture.


Hello, my name is blogger. Don’t make me mad!
Hannah Butcher (Digital PR Specialist, White.net)

What it’s about

Pretty much “How not to piss off bloggers” so you can actually gain some traction with them.

Why you should watch it

If the title wasn’t enough to sway you, then here’s a statement that will: bloggers matter. For a long time now, blogs have been increasingly influential in various markets, and with the rise of vloggers like, say, Zoella, the loyal fanbase they can attain borders on religious zeal. Blogger says jump? They say “how high?” Now if you want to get a blogger to respond to your outreach campaign and actually give yourself a chance, you have to play by their rules – and Hannah’s a veteran.


Internal Communications: How to turn employees in to your greatest marketers
Mike Essex (Petrofac)

What it’s about

Maximising your greatest business asset for marketing: your employees.

Why you should watch it

It’s baffling that more companies don’t see it, but your employees are actually much better at marketing the company than the company will ever be. Why? Because they are human beings with real opinions, and they share these opinions with others – including your customers. This talk promises to explain how to make the most of this.


5. Keynote (Strategy)

17:30 – 18:00 BST
12:30 – 13:00 ET / 11:30 – 12:00 CT / 10:30 – 11:00 MT / 09:30 – 10:00 PT

 

Creating Persuasive Content
Nathalie Nahai (Web psychologist, International Speaker and Author)

What it’s about

This is mysteriously blank on the BrightonSEO webpage…

Why you should watch it

…if nothing else, doesn’t the lack of information make you immensely curious what the Brighton SEO keynote speaker has to say? Either way, as a web psychologist and author of the best-selling book Webs of Influence: The Psychology of Online Persuasion, my interest is well and truly piqued – and so should yours be!


Anything else I should know?

Just make sure you enjoy the content! If you want more information on all the speakers attending the event, check out Brighton SEO’s dedicated speakers page.

UPDATE: Authoritas have now uploaded all of the slide decks and videos of the main stage talks, wahoo!

Feel free to leave a comment if you have any questions, or indeed anything you learned from the conference.

***********************

FYI: All schedule information on speakers and the conference schedule drawn from the Brighton SEO website, their schedule for the event, and from those great guys and gals over at Authoritas.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *